How do I test my graphics card?

Give us a seminar, lecture or lesson on what your 'thing' is. Now with our exclusive ASK-A-NERD!!!
User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:05 pm

Freeware available?
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

User avatar
Audley Strange
"I blame the victim"
Posts: 7485
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Audley Strange » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:08 pm

what is it, does it not come with a suite for such?
"What started as a legitimate effort by the townspeople of Salem to identify, capture and kill those who did Satan's bidding quickly deteriorated into a witch hunt" Army Man

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:09 pm

Audley Strange wrote:what is it, does it not come with a suite for such?
NFC
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

User avatar
Azathoth
blind idiot god
blind idiot god
Posts: 9418
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Azathoth » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:22 pm

I think eve online have a free trial going on at the moment. That on max quality would show you how much your card will handle
Outside the ordered universe is that amorphous blight of nethermost confusion which blasphemes and bubbles at the center of all infinity—the boundless daemon sultan Azathoth, whose name no lips dare speak aloud, and who gnaws hungrily in inconceivable, unlighted chambers beyond time and space amidst the muffled, maddening beating of vile drums and the thin monotonous whine of accursed flutes.

Code: Select all

// Replaces with spaces the braces in cases where braces in places cause stasis 
   $str = str_replace(array("\{","\}")," ",$str);

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:29 pm

Azathoth wrote:I think eve online have a free trial going on at the moment. That on max quality would show you how much your card will handle
I have trouble loading graphics programs, Photoshop AND Paint Shop. When I do get them loaded they run out of memory to do things like copying sections of pictures. I can't run a scanner in WIA mode, I have to use TWAIN. My dashboard shows I have ~4 gig of memory left when I get the insufficient memory message. Card is an ATI Radeon HD 5700 series. No conflicts, driver is up to date.
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

User avatar
Xamonas Chegwé
Bouncer
Bouncer
Posts: 50939
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:23 pm
About me: I have prehensile eyebrows.
I speak 9 languages fluently, one of which other people can also speak.
When backed into a corner, I fit perfectly - having a right-angled arse.
Location: Nottingham UK
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Xamonas Chegwé » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:40 pm

Gawdzilla Sama wrote:
Azathoth wrote:I think eve online have a free trial going on at the moment. That on max quality would show you how much your card will handle
I have trouble loading graphics programs, Photoshop AND Paint Shop. When I do get them loaded they run out of memory to do things like copying sections of pictures. I can't run a scanner in WIA mode, I have to use TWAIN. My dashboard shows I have ~4 gig of memory left when I get the insufficient memory message. Card is an ATI Radeon HD 5700 series. No conflicts, driver is up to date.
Have you tried wanking? :tea:
A book is a version of the world. If you do not like it, ignore it; or offer your own version in return.
Salman Rushdie
You talk to God, you're religious. God talks to you, you're psychotic.
House MD
Who needs a meaning anyway, I'd settle anyday for a very fine view.
Sandy Denny
This is the wrong forum for bluffing :nono:
Paco
Yes, yes. But first I need to show you this venomous fish!
Calilasseia
I think we should do whatever Pawiz wants.
Twoflower
Bella squats momentarily then waddles on still peeing, like a horse
Millefleur

User avatar
Azathoth
blind idiot god
blind idiot god
Posts: 9418
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Azathoth » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:44 pm

try this. See if the numbers come back as they are supposed to

http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
Outside the ordered universe is that amorphous blight of nethermost confusion which blasphemes and bubbles at the center of all infinity—the boundless daemon sultan Azathoth, whose name no lips dare speak aloud, and who gnaws hungrily in inconceivable, unlighted chambers beyond time and space amidst the muffled, maddening beating of vile drums and the thin monotonous whine of accursed flutes.

Code: Select all

// Replaces with spaces the braces in cases where braces in places cause stasis 
   $str = str_replace(array("\{","\}")," ",$str);

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:52 pm

On it.
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

PsychoSerenity
"I" Self-Perceive Recursively
Posts: 7811
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:57 am
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by PsychoSerenity » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:54 pm

Odd. Not a problem I've come across before, and I wouldn't expect it to be a problem with the graphics card, but if it had a fault it could be. My normal suggestion for testing graphics cards is swap it with another one, but you have to have another one spare for that.
[Disclaimer - if this is comes across like I think I know what I'm talking about, I want to make it clear that I don't. I'm just trying to get my thoughts down]

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:03 pm

No spare card.

Jason
Destroyer of words
Posts: 17747
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Jason » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:12 pm

I think Passmark has a trial period.. yep

http://www.passmark.com/products/pt.htm

Just run the 2D and 3D tests if you only want to test the performance of your gfx card.

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:16 pm

Azathoth wrote:try this. See if the numbers come back as they are supposed to

http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
What the fuck was that supposed to do?
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

Jason
Destroyer of words
Posts: 17747
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Jason » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:19 pm

It tests the processing power of your CPU, your graphics card in both 2D and 3D applications, your hdd read/write speeds, and your RAM read/write speeds, then you can compare them to the available baselines or go online to compare them to hundreds of thousands of others.

That's not what you wanted to do?

oops.. thought you were asking me. Looks like Aza's link focuses on the gfx card exclusively.. same idea though. Em.. except his uses OpenGL - which is OK, but usually not as fast as DirectX, and it only tests 3D performance. :dunno:

User avatar
Gawdzilla Sama
Stabsobermaschinist
Posts: 151265
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:24 am
About me: My posts are related to the thread in the same way Gliese 651b is related to your mother's underwear drawer.
Location: Sitting next to Ayaan in Domus Draconis, and communicating via PMs.
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Gawdzilla Sama » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:22 pm

Does it give me numbers somewhere?
Image
Ein Ubootsoldat wrote:“Ich melde mich ab. Grüssen Sie bitte meine Kameraden.”

Jason
Destroyer of words
Posts: 17747
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I test my graphics card?

Post by Jason » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:26 pm

Yep. They're relative though, so you have to compare them to other results that either ship with the program or are available online. In passmark you can download baselines from their database to compare to - it gives your results in bar chart form with numbers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests